Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Arabic Pronunciation Dictionary
Polish your presentation by hearing and practicing how many Arabic names, places, and other important terms are pronounced.
Explora for High School Power Library
This database contains topic overviews and links to current news articles. Use it to get an understanding of a big subject before narrowing down to your presentation topic.
Student Resources in Context
Gale Databases contain links to reference resources, biographical information, audio and video, and more. To access from home enter username: govmifflin password: mustangs
Find statistical information and facts about every country in the world. Enter username: govmifflin password: mustangs from on or off campus
EBSCO - MAS Ultra and Academic Search Main
Select the databases MAS Ultra and Academic Search Main from the menu and click continue. This database contains links to current news sources and academic journals for a more in-depth look.
Scholarly articles and book chapters on all subjects. For access to full text, see the "Database Access" box for usernames and passwords
In the Name of Osama Bin Laden by
Call Number: BIO BIN
Publication Date: 2002-03-04
"A must read for all who continue to grapple with the twin legacy of hatred and hope from September 11. . . "* International terrorism expert Roland Jacquard's In the Name of Osama bin Laden presents a dramatic portrait of the world's most wanted terrorist and his extensive brotherhood--the network of people who operate "in his name."
I Am Malala by
Call Number: BIO YOU
When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, one girl spoke out. Malala Yousafzai refused to be silenced and fought for her right to an education. On Tuesday, October 9, 2012, when she was fifteen, she almost paid the ultimate price. She was shot in the head at point-blank range while riding the bus home from school, and few expected her to survive.
All Middle East Countries
The Handbook of the Middle East by
Call Number: 956 KOR
The Middle East by
Call Number: 956 MID
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
This is a politically neutral guide to help the reader understand the complex and controversial issues that influence the volatile Middle east. The book provides a historical context for events, biographical sketches of major figures, and a chronology of major events.
Afghanistan & The Taliban
A Brief History of Afghanistan by
Call Number: 958.1 WAH
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Located along the busy trade routes between Asia and Europe, Afghanistan was for centuries a place where a diverse set of cultures met and exchanged goods and ideas. It was also a country on the paths of many invaders, including Alexander the Great, Ashoka, and the Scythians, Parthians, Kushans, and the Ephthalites, or White Huns. All of these peoples have left their mark on the land, forming one of the most diverse societies in the world. In modern times.
Culture and Customs of Afghanistan by
Call Number: 958.1 EMA
Publication Date: 2005-06-30
Afghanistan has been at the crossroads of many cultures and civilizations, occupying a unique place in the cultural geography of Central Asia.
United Arab Emirates by
Call Number: 953.57 AUG
Describes the geography history culture industry and people of the United Arab Emirates
Iran - Revolution, Theocracy, Hostage Crisis, and Nuclear Weapons
Pieces of the Game by
Call Number: 955 SCO
Publication Date: 1984-03-01
The Iranian Revolution by
Call Number: 955.05 JAN
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
In the Middle Eastern nation of Iran, discontent simmered for decades. the Iranian people despised their leader, Reza Shah, who catered to foreign businesses while ruling Iran as a dictator. In 1979 discontent boiled up into all-out revolution. Led by the charismatic Ayatollah Khomeini, the Iranian people seized control and created a new government based on the Islamic religion.
A Brief History of Israel by
Call Number: 956.9405 BER
The Creation of the State of Israel by
Call Number: 956.94 CRE
Understanding the Holy Land by
Call Number: 956.9405 FRA
In Understanding the Holy Land, Mitch Frank offers straightforward explanations. Answering questions from "What is intifada?" to "Why is peace so hard?"
Kurds and the Kurdish State
Call Number: 956.6 GEL
A Brief History of Saudi Arabia by
Call Number: 953.8 WYN
Publication Date: 2004-06-01
An important U.S. ally in the Middle East, Saudi Arabia is a mysterious land to most Americans, who may know it only as the place where Islam originated and Islamic fundamentalism is a powerful force.
Wars in the Middle East
The Iran-Iraq War by
Call Number: 955.05 WIL
Encyclopedia of the Persian Gulf War by
Call Number: 956.7044 SCH
The War in Iraq by
Call Number: 956.7044 WAR
The Blog of War by
Call Number: 956.7044 BUR
The War in Afghanistan by
Call Number: 958.104 WIL
Syria/Syrian Civil War
Call Number: 956.91 MOR
A history of Syria, focusing on the country's role in the current political climate of the modern Middle East.
Black Flags by
Publication Date: 2015-09-29
WINNER OF THE 2016 PULITZER PRIZE FOR GENERAL NONFICTION "A Best Book of 2015"--The New York Times, The Washington Post, People Magazine, San Francisco Chronicle, Kansas City Star, and Kirkus Reviews In a thrilling dramatic narrative, awarded the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction, Joby Warrick traces how the strain of militant Islam behind ISIS first arose in a remote Jordanian prison and spread with the unwitting aid of two American presidents.
Investigating Terrorist Attacks at the Hands of ISIS by
Publication Date: 2017-07-15
"The Islamic State, or ISIS, has become one of the most deadly terrorist organizations in the world. ISIS made headlines with their use of violence and intimidation in Syria and Iraq and are credited with carrying out attacks in Europe and inspiring attacks in the United States. This book discusses the rise of ISIS in the Middle East, their international reach, the distinction between attacks inspired by and coordinated by ISIS, and how countries are responding. The book will help students understand the ideology of ISIS, how they carry out attacks, and how experts feel the group can be countered."
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
The Islamic State in Iraq and Syria, or ISIS, emerged in the Middle East during the first decade of the 2000s. The group vows to wage violent jihad, or holy war, on those who do not adhere to its extremist interpretation of Islamic law. ISIS conquers territory and rules savagely. ISIS terrorists manipulate social media brilliantly, shocking viewers around the globe with brutal video footage. Government leaders and agencies all over the world are working to prevent the next ISIS attack. How can nations combat ISIS? Can it be defeated with military force? This in-depth investigation tackles these and other thorny issues related to the twenty-first-century face of global terrorism.
Investigating the Crash of Flight 93 by
Publication Date: 2017-07-15
"The tragic events aboard United Airlines Flight 93 on September 11, 2001, are seen as an example of extreme heroism. When they realized their plane had been hijacked, passengers aboard flight 93 fought the hijackers and brought the plane down in a field in Shanksville, Pennsylvania, in an attempt to save the lives of people on the ground. This book examines the events leading up to the hijacking, the heroic actions of passengers and crew, and the country's response to this tragedy. A glossary helps students develop their vocabulary, while a further information section encourages deeper understanding of the topic."
Refugees & Refugee Crisis
We Are Displaced by
Call Number: 305.23092 YOU
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
After her father was murdered, María escaped in the middle of the night with her mother. Zaynab was out of school for two years as she fled war before landing in America. Her sister, Sabreen, survived a harrowing journey to Italy. Ajida escaped horrific violence, but then found herself battling the elements to keep her family safe. *** In her powerful new book, Nobel Peace Prize winner and New York Times-bestselling author Malala Yousafzai introduces some of the people behind the statistics and news stories about the millions of people displaced worldwide.
The Unwanted by
Call Number: 956.9014 BRO (Graphic Non-Fiction)
Publication Date: 2018-09-18
Sibert Honor Medalist ∙ New York Public Library Best Of 2018 ∙ The Horn Book's Fanfare 2018 list ∙ Kirkus Best Books of 2018 ∙ YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Winner In the tradition of two-time Sibert honor winner Don Brown's critically acclaimed, full-color nonfiction graphic novels The Great American Dust Bowl and Drowned City, The Unwanted is an important, timely, and eye-opening exploration of the ongoing Syrian refugee crisis, exposing the harsh realities of living in, and trying to escape, a war zone. Starting in 2011, refugees flood out of war-torn Syria in Exodus-like proportions. The surprising flood of victims overwhelms neighboring countries, and chaos follows. Resentment in host nations heightens as disruption and the cost of aid grows. By 2017, many want to turn their backs on the victims. The refugees are the unwanted. Don Brown depicts moments of both heartbreaking horror and hope in the ongoing Syrian refugee crisis. Shining a light on the stories of the survivors, The Unwanted is a testament to the courage and resilience of the refugees and a call to action for all those who read.
The Refugee Crisis by
Publication Date: 2018-12-15
The Refugee Crisis discusses the growing number of refugees across the globe. It also explores reasons behind the crisis and how the international community is responding, and it encourages readers to form their own opinions. Features include a glossary, references, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.