Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GMMS Library: Policies

Policies

Chromebooks

Please refer to the Chromebook Handbook on the Governor Mifflin School District's page.

Circulation and Overdues

Circulation policies exist to ensure equitable access to library materials for all students.

Overdue Items

No fines are levied on overdue materials. Students are reminded to be respectful of their peers by bringing materials back on time.

At the end of each quarter, items that are more than 14 days overdue will be reported to the Main Office as an obligation. Having an outstanding obligation prevents students from participating fully in the school community. Students cannot go on field trips or participate in some extracurricular activities (including BEST Day at the Middle School) until the obligation is satisfied.

Students are responsible for paying for lost or damaged items. Charges are carried from school to school and must be paid by graduation.

Damaged Items

Damage is determined by the librarian. Even minor water damage may, in some cases, invite a risk of mold rendering the item unfit for the collection, even though it may still be readable.

Charges for damaged items are based on the replacement value of an equal item. Please note that the library often purchases library bound books designed to withstand repeated use. This may result in charges that are higher than what might be found on Amazon or another retailer for the same book title.

Once a damaged item has been paid for, it will be marked as discarded from the library and it belongs to the student.

Lost items

Items still overdue at the end of the school year are declared lost. Lost items are also reported to the office as an obligation with charges dependent upon replacement value.

If a lost item is found and returned in good condition within 90 days of payment, the student may choose to keep the item (we will mark it as discarded from the collection) or return it for a refund.

Lost items found and returned more than 90 days after payment are not eligible for a refund.

Interlibrary Loan Circulation

Governor Mifflin School District participates in the state-wide interlibrary loan (ILL) system, AccessPA. This allows us to borrow materials from school, public, and academic libraries from across the state. It is imperative that students borrowing materials through ILL, for academics or for pleasure, return them to GMHS library on time, so that we can maintain good relationships with other lending libraries.

Behavior Expectations

In order to maintain a vibrant, learning-focused environment for everyone:

  • Students are expected to be engaged in meaningful, educational work. Socializing is not an acceptable use of the library’s resources. The number of students at a table or carrel is not to exceed the number of seats allotted by the staff. 
  • Students are expected to be respectful to library staff, fellow students, and the library’s materials and spaces. Primarily, this means keeping voices low, at an acceptable level as determined by library staff, and refraining from outbursts. Students must not have feet on furniture or mark tables or surfaces in any way.

Students who do not adhere to these standards of behavior face the following consequences:

  • First, a verbal warning from any library staff person. Should the behavior continue after the verbal warning, students will be sent back to class.
  • Any student who breaks GMMS rules (see the GMMS student handbook) may face any or all of the following consequences:
    • Documentation or Discipline Referral (Skyward and EdInsite)
    • Parent communication (phone call, email or both)
    • Referral to Principal or Assistant Principal and possible disciplinary action

Collection Development

Intellectual freedom is a core value of the library profession. Students have the right to a relevant, balanced, and diverse school library collection that represents all points of view; school librarians assume a leadership role in protecting minors’ First Amendment right to read and receive information and ideas.

Librarians work to build a collection that reflects the interests of the student body and the academic curriculum of each school building. Our library serves a diverse population, with differing values, cultural backgrounds, and abilities. To the degree possible, emphasis is placed on collecting resources that exhibit sensitivity to race, color, religion, national origin, age, sex, gender, ancestry, citizenship status, mental or physical disability, genetic information, or sexual orientation. Careful consideration is given to acquire high quality materials that promote personal and academic growth in our students. A district-wide procedure for requesting reconsideration of materials is in place, and may be acquired by contacting the librarian and the building principal.

At that time, the building principal will inform the requestor about the district’s policies, and the librarian will provide an explanation for the material’s intended educational purpose.The Superintendent and Assistant Superintendent will be informed of the request received.

If the requestor wishes to proceed with a formal challenge, the building principal will provide copies of the necessary forms and the board policy.

  • The requestor must complete the district form and submit it to the building principal.
  • The request will be referred to a Review Committee at the affected school building.
  • The committee will meet within 10 working days of the receipt of the request for reconsideration. They will review the request, examine the material, and prepare a recommendation.
  • The decision of the Review Committee is binding at the school level, however the requestor may appeal the recommendation and request a review by the Superintendent and the School board.

Access to challenged materials will not be restricted during the process.

For more information please see the ALA Statement on Diverse Collections and the AASL Brochure on Intellectual Freedom in School Libraries

Donations

The library will accept donations, including items of interest to local historians. All donations will be reviewed by the librarian for alignment with the needs and goals of the collection. Items that cannot be included in the collection will be disposed of at the discretion of the professional librarian.

Deselection

Materials which no longer meet the stated objectives of the library will be discarded according to accepted professional practices as described in the publication, The CREW Manual. Disposition of library materials deselected will be at the discretion of the professional librarian.